Family History

Standard


I attended a funeral this past weekend. Though I did not personally know her, it was not difficult to see the beautiful, full life Gracie Cooke lived. A life filled with love & family. A life truly spent as a servant of the Lord. I was moved to tears, I will confess. It was a strange occurrence for me to do so in such a public, unfamiliar setting. To have never exchanged words with her, but to feel her, to shed tears for her. My heart ached. Not in mourning the way one would assume, but in yearning. Yearning to live my life in the way she did. As I learned throughout the service, Gracie lived a rather quiet life. But oh, how rich her life was. She surrounded herself with the aspects in this life that matter most. Things not of material value, but qualities that enrich one’s soul. Family. Friends. Passions. Dreams. Courage. Patience. Faith. Hope. Love.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” – 1 Corinthians 13:13

Leave a Reply

