Day 02: I Am My Own Villain

Standard

Day 02. January 2, 2012

I ponder a lot. Examine. Prod. Tear down any bit of self-esteem I may have hidden away from the rest of me. It’s not that I’m self-destructive or go out of my way to make my own life difficult. I’m like the majority of others, finding that I never meet up to the standards I have set for myself.

I don’t push myself the way I should. I don’t keep to the promises and goals I set. I have yet to last longer than two weeks on an exercise regiment I spend days planning out and visualizing. And there is no one else to pass the buck off to. No one else to blame for the patterns I have formed for myself. And enough is enough. Everyday is a new day to break the habits of yesterday and form new, healthy ones. You don’t have to be amazing today, you don’t have to work yourself to death or demand yourself to be the best. You just have to do better than you did yesterday. And before you know it you’ll be the person you’ve always talked of being. I try to remind myself of those things when I’m beating myself up for something that honestly won’t matter in five years.

You just have to do better than you did yesterday. Every day is a new beginning.

One thought on “Day 02: I Am My Own Villain

  1. Karen Van Scoten

    always remember what I would say every morning when you left
    my office and headed off to class at Forest Hills Lutheran School,
    “Do your best.” Not better than someone else, but YOUR best.

Leave a Reply

