Day 03: Majik

Standard

Day 03. January 3, 2012

If you told me three years ago that my present self would be excited to eat middle-eastern cuisine – that of lamb curry, cucumber yogurt, authentic hummus, and tabouli – I would call you crazy.

It is embarrassing for me to reveal that my younger self was – for lack of a better adjective- quite…American. Comfortable to eat the same mundane and uninspiring meals, never expanding my taste palette beyond the borders of my home. I won’t dive into all the issues I have with the typical “American” lifestyle, that is not what this post is about. No, no. We’re solely focusing on food today.

I pride myself in eating well and continually trying new international dishes. And getting them as authentic as they can come is key. Today my love and I shared lunch at Casablanca on 5th Street just a few blocks off campus. And while the food was delicious, I must say my favorite part was sipping on Jered’s glass of majik. A delicious drink similar to iced tea, but far superior in flavor. With hints of lemon and mint it was addictive and I hope one day to be able to make the beverage in my home. But until that happens numerous trips will be made solely to sip on more.

One thought on “Day 03: Majik

Leave a Reply

