Day 11: A Mother’s Love

Standard

Day 11. January 11, 2012

Today is my mama’s birthday. The last time around I was behind in photos and didn’t get my happy birthday photo up in time. This year…made it by 11:00 PM? Little steps, people. It’s an improvement. But enough about trivial topics.

It’s about to get real sentimental, you’ve been warned.

I have a similar photo to this one that was taken two and a half years ago the day I moved into my dorm freshman year. It was an emotional day, for both parties involved. I was not one of those kids anxious to leave the nest, rid all ties of ever needing to depend upon two adults who didn’t understand my hopes & dreams. That bull is what makes up the ridiculous teen dramas on ABC Family. Nope, I was the kid who didn’t want mama to go and cried. A lot. I stayed pretty close to home thus far in my life. Being an art kid in high school secured the lifestyle that I had nothing to do with sports or any major activity outside of singing in my church choir. This move was only my second trip to Eugene, I had never been away from home for more than a couple weeks each summer for mission trips with the youth group.

Before our final hug mama grabbed a sharpie, took my hand, and drew a big heart in the center of my palm. I cannot recall the exact words she said, but it was something to the effect that no matter where I am, her love will always be with me.

It seemed appropriate to do the same for you, mama. I know I can’t always come home when I want to, and I probably don’t call home often enough, but I remember that day as if it were yesterday. And no matter where I am, my love will always be with you. You truly are the best mother anyone could ask for, I hope you won’t soon forget it.

Happy Birthday, Mama. I love you!

One thought on “Day 11: A Mother’s Love

  1. Kristi C

    Becca, you just brought me to tears (in a good way). Today (1/12/11) would have been my mamma’s 88th birthday. Know that a good mother’s love never, ever leaves you, and I can still feel my mamma lovin’ on me even now.

    You are such a sweet, caring person and I can see why Jered is so taken by you. I am blessed to have such a lovely young lady as my son’s girlfriend… and in my life too!

    Wish your mamma happy birthday for me (even though I don’t know her) and tell her I said, “Good job!” 😀

    Luv ~ Kristi

Leave a Reply

