Day 14: Date Night

Standard

Day 14. January 14, 2012

Cooking for the people I love is a great joy of mine. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again & again. This evening I went all out.

A few weeks ago I found an Egyptian dish online called Kushari and planned to try it out on a weekend when I knew Jered would be available. Well, what started out as simply trying out a new dish turned into a full-blown date night. Lit candles, Frank Sinatra crooning in the background, special Tunisia dishware – the works. I figured since I had spent two hours preparing this Kushari I might as well make an event out of it. A truly lovely evening it was. No homework or games to distract us from one another. Just the two of us and our shared love for authentic middle eastern cuisine.  And oh my word…it was delicious. It  might be one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten in my life, let alone the best international dish I’ve had. I can make this whenever the mood strikes, especially with it’s list of simple ingredients. I made quite a mess of the kitchen along the way to creating the finished product, but I have a feeling that now I know my way around it won’t be quite the explosion as it was tonight. I’m craving it already and I know those leftovers will not last for long!

Leave a Reply

