Day 29: Taste the Rainbow

Standard

Day 29. January 29, 2012

No, we’re not talking about Skittles here. No artificial colors, flavors, or sugar. We’re talking about real flavor, health benefits, and enjoyment. Tea is my favorite beverage after water. What could be better? There are endless herb combinations to try, countless ailment solutions passed down through generations, and it’s simply delicious.

During the winter I drink tea on a pretty regular basis, mostly because it’s a hot drink to warm me up. It can be comforting and invigorating at the same time. Last year when Jered and I first met, he got me to try Yogi’s Egyptian Licorice Mint. I’m not a fan of licorice, so the sound of it turned me off right away. But it’s not what you think. It is hands down the best tea I’ve ever tasted thus far in my young adulthood. We call it “candy in a cup” because it satisfies any sweet tooth craving and soothes an upset tum.

Instead of rummaging through my abundant stack of tea boxes cluttering up my cupboard, I like to keep an assortment in a vintage tea tin that I inherited from my mom. Besides Egyptian Licorice Mint, Stash’s Chai Green Tea is my other top rated tea I reach for. I received it in a wonderful birthday package, among other delightful tea goodies, from my best friend up north. With just a splash of half & half  this tea kept me awake during my early morning drawing class last term. It’s warm, spicy flavor gets my taste buds dancing with every sip. I love cinnamon and cloves in just about everything and this tea has both among many other perfectly blended spices. If you love chai or green tea, this is the best of both worlds.

I have yet to take my obsession with tea into the realm of the loose leaf variety, simply because I lack a tea infuser. It’s a terrible excuse, but it exists none-the-less. I could definitely get behind collecting infusers of all kinds – from traditional to quirky, I’m always looking. Now I feel the need to brew myself another cup.

Leave a Reply

