Day 41: Kick-Off

Standard

Day 41. February 10, 2012

“Technically” our anniversary isn’t until Sunday, the 12th. But why celebrate on just one day when we can make a whole weekend out of it! Actually, this all started out as a full-weekend celebration a few weeks ago when my mama called me to say that they were going out of town for the weekend and would be passing through Eugene and thought it would be nice to stop by and have a bite to eat. I wasn’t about to turn down seeing my parents and getting free food, so the boy and I talked it out and decided we would just celebrate our anniversary on Saturday. Thing is, I wanted to make him dinner. So I extended it another day longer and made tonight the kick-off of our weekend together. 

I prepared a middle-eastern meal with tandoori chicken over jasmine rice, a savory tomato-chickpea side along with some tangy oven-cooked asparagus. And you know what I’m going to say next, don’t you? I came across this dish on Pinterest. Oh, yes. Yes, I did. Budget Bites has a fantastic post with the chicken, chickpea side, and jasmine rice all in one. It was easy to follow and really helpful to see the cost of everything laid out. I’ll definitely be looking back here for more ideas in the future.

But the dinner wasn’t even my favorite part. No, no. My favorite was what I had planned for dessert. Honeyed pears in puff pastry. And they were delicious. Mine took much longer in the oven for the puff pastry to cook through, which was a let-down, but Jered was thrilled just the same and forgiving of my mistakes.

In the end, it was a great start to what I hope will be a fantastic weekend with my love.

Leave a Reply

