Day 47: BYGTCD

Standard

Day 47. February 16, 2012

B.Y.G.T.C.D.

I’m sure you know what the elaborate acronym stands for. But for those of you who don’t: Bring Your Girlfriend to Class Day. I woke from my slumber, prepared two travel mugs with fresh coffee, and met my love at 8:15 am to sit in on his Ancient Cities lecture. He informed me earlier in the week that they were discussing Medieval India & I was so tickled he asked his professor if I could listen in. I fell in love with Indian culture as a freshman when I took my second art history course: ArH 207 History of Indian Art. Their traditions, history, religion is beautiful. I love learning about the seemingly infinite number of gods and deities.

Jered and I just watched one of my favorite films this weekend, Sita Sings the Blues, and I greatly encourage anyone reading this to watch it. It’s available in just about every format – DVD, streaming, download – whichever you prefer. The creator of the film, Nina Paley, supports the freedom of sharing, copying, and remixing her work and I do as well. The film is a beautifully crafted telling of The Ramayana, which Nina has classified “the greatest break-up ever told”.  I hope to one day own a copy of The Ramayana, one with beautiful illustrations, well-worn & broken in. And I hope to one day travel to India and experience the culture, take in the history, and fill my suitcase with as many authentic tapestries, fabrics, and spices as I can.

Leave a Reply

