Day 66: Put a Little Fiber in It

Standard

Day 66. March 06, 2012

Today’s creation: Cranberry-Orange Oat Muffins. Another wonderful recipe from Texanerin Baking. My photo causes the muffin to look a little yellow in color, but they are actually true to the photos posted with the recipe. Can’t always win with my camera even after editing…but back to the muffins.

They’re delicious. The texture is phenomenal with the use of oats, I chose to use steel-cut in mine. Though I think I would add more orange to them, simply to give it some kick. I love the flavor combination of cranberries & orange, but it wasn’t quite enough for me with the recommended zest and orange juice alone. Perhaps some organic orange extract? I’m not big on eating in the morning, so these are great to kick-start my day with the fiber from the oats & bran, and the sweet from the dried cranberries. Can’t wait to make them again!

Leave a Reply

