Day 69: Where it All Went Wrong

Standard

Day 69. March 09, 2012

I’ve been pretty lucky thus far into my cooking adventures to be able to count my mess-ups on one hand. But tonight I must raise another digit for my complete failure. Curry with yellow rice and homemade flat bread. I’ve made middle eastern food in the past and been quite successful. Although this was my first time attempting the alluring curry, I felt fairly confident that it would be quite similar to the other dishes I’ve made.

But I could not have been more wrong. First starters, I managed to burn the  rice. Burn the rice. Completely reckless move. Especially when I’ve cooked rice in the same fashion numerous times in the past. Sigh. On top of that I managed to completely ruin the chicken curry.

The color looked a little off when the sauce finally thickened, but I didn’t think too much of it until we all took our first bites. It was incredibly salty, I mean nausea inducing saltiness. How did this happen? I knew the recipe called for too much salt, I should have gone with my gut feeling and held back. But the difference of half a teaspoon couldn’t have made that big of an impact with all of my other spices. I just couldn’t understand how I could have messed up so horribly. So much wasted food.

The only glimmer of light with this dinner was the flat bread. Pretty delicious and definitely a keeper recipe for the future. But a person cannot eat only flat bread for dinner…no matter how much they plead that they are full *cough* *cough*. Yeah, I’m talking to you, roomie. You were far too kind in response to my complete and utter failure.

Update: This morning, as I was cleaning the burnt bits from the pan I ruined the rice in I realized what I did wrong. And it’s so completely embarrassing, I almost don’t want to post this. But…here it is. For the curry sauce, it was a milk base with cornstarch to thicken as needed. The cornstarch is kept on our second shelf above the stove behind the baking soda. I pulled down the baking soda last night and somehow decided it was cornstarch, used baking soda in my sauce. Probably two or three tablespoons of baking soda…seriously Rebecca? So upsetting. And humiliating. And hilarious. All in one fantastic package. Blug.

Either way, I’m never making curry again. Or at least not for a very, very, very long time. Sorry, Jered.

Leave a Reply

