Day 73: Secret Ingredient

Standard

Day 73. March 13, 2012

One of my favorite recipes to make is my grandmother’s maple syrup. It’s top secret, so there will be no sharing of the recipes details, sorry. If you’ve ever had the pleasure of tasting this liquid gold you are fully aware that no other maple syrup will ever satisfy your taste buds in the same fashion. And even though I will never share the recipe, sharing the product is the best part of making it.

Whenever I make a new batch, that first taste of warm syrup instantly transports me back to my childhood. Of standing at the stove with grandma, her showing me how to stir the pot, what ingredient to add when. It’s one of my fondest memories and I love that it comes back to me clearly every time I make my own batch today.

When people say the secret ingredient of a recipe is love, for the most part they mean it jokingly. But I know wholeheartedly that love is what makes this syrup the best thing I’ve ever tasted. And it is with love that I prepare it every time.

Leave a Reply

