104: Thorns

Standard

Day 104. April 13, 2012

Have you ever been weeding in a dense area when suddenly you pull back your hand before you’ve realized what has happened and yelp because you’ve just grabbed hold of a thorny stalk? Well I have. More times than I can count.

I’m the same way when it comes to relationships, I pull away before a thorn can pierce too deep into my skin. I become reclusive & quiet, keeping my head down and my voice hardly above a whisper. Better for me to stay out of the way than to try to wrestle with the beast. But thorny vines do not whither away so easily, my friend. It takes a great ordeal to tame the tangles & even more time and maintenance to keep it under control. A never-ending battle. An upward climb.

Life is full of thorns – hopefully with each encounter we come out on the other side with a tougher layer of skin than the time before.

Leave a Reply

