Day 138: Jessan Running

Standard

Day 138. May 17, 2012

Oh, Jessan. You silly, silly woman. Don’t you know you’re not going to make it out of that house? Why do you even try to run?

In one of my digital art classes we’re remixing comics for a project. Either altering an existing panel or creating our own based off of one. My friend Brian just happens to be an avid comic collector so I scoured through the ones he has here in Eugene to find just the right page to play around with. My chosen victim: The Uncanny X-Men “Down Under” Issue 229 May 1988. I won’t go into details about the storyline, but the particular page I’m using has this image of the female character, Jessan, running away from villain Pretty Boy, the cyborg thug who kidnapped her. While working in Photoshop I carefully cut her figure out as a safety net so that I could preserve her image while altering the background in which she drawn. I loved it so much I made a simple poster for myself. And I will definitely be printing it off and framing it in the near future.

Leave a Reply

