Day 147: Cluttered

Standard

Day 147. May 26, 2012

Some days I stare at my closet, examining its contents. And I tell myself that one of these days I’m going to clean out items that I honestly don’t wear anymore. It usually happens late in the evening – when I convince myself to purge. But just as quickly as I talk myself into it I talk myself back out. With each item I come up with some excuse as to why I cannot part with it. I suspect that I really only wear one-third of my wardrobe. But I also realize that I go through phases as well. But why is it so difficult to part with material items? Why do we cling so terribly to possessions? They’re nothing more than woven fibers, lifeless on their hangers.

But this time is different. I’m not letting myself be persuaded into keeping items I never wear anymore – or have never worn. And it feels remarkably freeing.

Leave a Reply

