Day 152: Celebrating Holi

Standard

Day 152. May 31, 2012

The Festival of Colors. Oh, how I would love to celebrate this holiday in India. Absorbed in its rich culture, its beautiful artwork, its inspiring temples. I dream of India.

But since I cannot travel there today, or any time soon, I will celebrate Holi with my love on campus along with a few hundred students. Students who may not be aware of the origin or significance of Holi, but enjoy throwing fragrant, highly pigmented powder at each other just the same.

I’m so glad I had an extra white v-neck in my drawer. Perfect for today. And for remembering my first Holi forever more. Or until the shirt fades. That’s what photos are for, right?

Leave a Reply

